Slender: The Arrival.

Scary stuff is hard to come by these days as we grow up getting desensitised; watching zombies mauling on human flesh and repeated uses of scary young girls really reduces the human ability to feel true terror. For me and my flatmates, a group of five 19 and 20 year old guys, you would have thought that lack of fear would be prime for us. Screw that idea.

Arrival_0

Slender: The Eight Pages was the end to all of that. A game based completely around suspense and deep, throbbing audio, encompassing us all together in a state of childlike terror. If you don’t understand what I’m talking about, watch this video, the one that I first found the game from. Yeah, it’s concentration is largely for humour, but you get a sense of the terror the game invokes. It was basically indie, horror, gaming at its best.

Now we have a sequel coming. Slender: The Arrival. If someone offered me either a copy of FIFA 14 or the new Slender to play now, I genuinely think I’d choose Slender (believe me, that means a lot to someone like me). A few screenshots have been leaked and the introduction of price to the game seems justified by the incredible improvements to graphics (pictures follow).

slender-the-arrival_promo_nov19_01

slender-the-arrival_promo_oct18_02

Slender-The-Arrival-Teaser-Trailer_9

So, it’s a pretty visual thriller. Will this detract from the gameplay though? I mean, the first one was so good because it moved away from all the modern gore and madness of some horror games. It used a traditional woods setting and a minimal amount of light to really make you jump when you get a glimpse of Slender’s looming figure. So, with improved visuals and apparent improvements to both gameplay and storyline, will this primal feeling of fear be depleted? Hopefully not, only time will tell.

With a rumoured release date of some time in March, Slender: The Arrival could be the biggest indie game release of the year. I, for one, cannot wait.

Please let me know if you enjoyed this post as I feel I’d like to branch away from only posting about football and music. Thanks and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

