Okay, I Lied.

So, in my last post I said that I was going to upload stuff twice a week. Evidently, that did not happen; I’m blaming a hell of a lot of uni work for that. However, I’ve now basically finished for this term and thought I’d come back and actually start writing again. So, to get things started, I’ll send out another of my inspirational music playlists.

I’m a bit of a weirdo in that I can’t really write properly without music on, and this track from The Weeknd (no, that’s not a typo) is one I’ve been relying on for much of this term. So chilled and so much swagger. Also, listen out at 1:16 for a snippet of Abel sounding just like Michael Jackson. It’s just too good.


 

Heard of Otis Redding? Quite possibly from Jay Z and Kanye’s song. He was actually an incredible soul singer in the 1960s, and his song ‘Try a Little Tenderness’ is timeless. And yes, it is the song the afore mentioned rapping gods sampled. Sounds so soulful, don’t you agree?

 

I’m me, so dubstep had to come up at some point. Rusko, famed for his deep, brutal song ‘Cockney Thug’ has come back with a new EP, Kapow. With a lighter tone than his previous tracks, ‘Yeah’ is a great party track.

 

Toning down, but still following the dubstep trend now with Imagine Dragons. Odd name (I’m guessing they’re the sort of people that loved Warhammer when they were younger), but oh so talented. Similar to Alex Clare in many ways, their recent EP, Continued Silence, is worth a listen. Particular highlights are ‘On Top of the World’ and the track I’ve chosen to use, ‘Radioactive’.

 

Do you like up and coming music? Who doesn’t, right? There’s little better than the indie/folk track ‘Sinking Ship’ by Port Isla. Arguably a slight rip off of KT Tunstall’s ‘Black Horse and the Cherry Tree’ at the beginning, but still bouncy, bright and catchy.

 

The FIFA soundtrack always comes out with a few gems and I’d say ‘Rain of Gold’ by Young Empires is one of them. Maybe more of a summer song, but it’s still awesome so worth a listen at any time of the year. A great mood-lifter.

 

Foster the People are another summer band, but they are also perfect to work to. Thus, I’ve been listening to them a lot recently. ‘Waste’ is relaxing and catchy at the same time, a rare combination, but it works. Individual band with a refreshing sound, I’m excited for their next album.

 

I first heard this final song when Zane Lowe dropped it when I went to see one of his DJ sets in May. At that time I would never have thought I’d have been fighting to get to the front of the crowd to see an eighteen year old, French, DJ at one of the biggest festivals in the UK. But hey ho, on the 24th June there I was, at Radio 1’s Hackney Weekend, absorbing the talent of Madeon. The French really seem to have a knack for making incroyable musique of the electronic variety and Madeon is no exception. ‘Finale’ is an epic anthem not to be missed.

 

So, that’s it for this post. Let me know what you guys think and please comment with any suggestions for future songs! Oh, and follow me on Twitter? I follow back… usually.

Leave a Reply

