I’m Back

Excuse the recent slump in posts, I went on holiday to Barcelona (it’s a lovely city, you should really visit). My next main post will be my Premiership team of the week after this weekend’s action. In the meantime, I thought I’d send out a few more music suggestions to brighten up your day.

I’m starting this post with an album track from the new Two Door Cinema Club record, Beacon. ‘Handshakes’ is a classic TDCC song, bringing chirpy vocals together with the usual upbeat guitar track. In my opinion, this song is way ahead of the lead single for this album, ‘Sleep Alone’.

You know that song from the Internet Explorer advert, ‘Too Close’? It comes from a man with a superb debut album, Mr Alex Clare with Lateness of the Hour. ‘Too Close’ is not the best song on this album however, it’s all about ‘Treading Water’. This guy is one of the first people to infuse a male voice with the familiar dubstep ‘wob’ and it sounds incredible. Love this song, one of my strongest suggestions for a listen.

One of my lists wouldn’t be complete without some upbeat rap in there and this week is no exception. Excuse the rather depressing chorus supplied by a sample of The Band Perry’s song, ‘If I Die Young’; the song is catchy and worth a few listens.

Time for a song that’s all about one man and his Freshman acoustic guitar. Ben Howard’s album, Every Kingdom is incredible and the song ‘Old Pine’ is one of the most relaxing tracks I have ever heard. There is something different about the way Ben plays and that really stands out in this track. Excellent.

Next up, The Cribs. This trio from Wakefield arguably hit their peak in a three year spell within which they were joined by The Smith’s guitarist, Johnny Marr. From the common catchy mess of songs such as ‘Hey Scenesters’ and ‘Our Bovine Public’ came a mature sound, blending the classic Cribs tone with a professionally structured song. The particular song I’ve chosen to illustrate this is the brilliant, brilliant, track, ‘We Share the Same Skies’.

A quick respite to show a song that really isn’t any good. But it’s Rolf Harris and this is worth seeing just for the absolute lunacy. I love the classic ‘Stairway to Heaven’, but this is just absurd. Enjoy his Churchill laugh and mistake at the start.

From the previous insanity comes one of the best electronic rock songs ever (yes, I know I said in my previous post that they are rare, but I’ve been hunting for diamonds). ‘Ghostwriter’ by RJD2 is incredible and if at 1:30 your toes don’t start bobbing then there’s something wrong with you. This one is so catchy, upbeat and well written; a rare combination, especially for a song with no lyrics.

If you claim Skrillex knows nothing about music then either you’re older than 25 or you’re just out of touch with modern music. Mix him with Damien Marley, son of legendary Bob Marley, and dubstep is brought back to it’s Rasta roots. ‘Make It Bun Dem’ has been a song of choice for many over the past few months, but after the recent release of the official music video, I feel that now is a good time to include it in my suggestions.

I hope you like this selection and enjoy the end of your weekend. By the way, I’m updating my About Me section (under the title ‘Anything and Everything’) as I’ve started to have an idea of the direction I want my blog to take. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

